The British Association of Teachers of Dancing



Another BATD Highland Christmas Festival has come and gone. All the dancers enjoy the day of Choreography, Reels & Broadsword Teams, special jigs and hornpipes, set dances, written critiques and unique Christmas awards. Santa always makes an appearance and has a chocolate for all dancers and siblings. This years Festival was the most entries to date at 169. Thanks teachers for all your support.

Thanks to our adjudicators Diane Krugh and Deborah Wardrope. It was a busy day but with everyone’s help it all ran smoothly.

Thanks also to the Joy Allen parents who come early to help set up, clean up at end of day and run the kitchen for us. Thanks also to James MacDonald in helping with the inputting of all music and of course Pete Tolev in getting Santa to show up.

Thanks to the teachers who help on the day with their donations to the kitchen, help at registration, lining up, writing for the adjudicators, etc. A special thanks to the following teachers and parents who donated to our Festival which helps with giving the Premier groups cash awards, runner-up awards for Pre-Premiers and Premiers and of course the unique awards:

Breck School, Sanderson School, Puseljic Family, Joy Allen School, Wallace Symington School, Mary Ellen Cann, Tara’s School of Highland Dance, Barclay Family, Cambridge Highland Dance, Sanderson School

Thanks also to Lisa Breck who donates her studio on the Sunday for amateur and Professional exams.

Congratulations to the following overall dancers:
Overall Beginners – Sienna Riley – Aspects of Dance
Overall Novice – Addisyn Barclay – Aspects of Dance & Logan McDonough – Sheryl Joyner
Overall Intermediate – Lauren Bradbury – Breck School
Most Promising Beginner – Sienna Riley – Aspects of Dance
Most Promising Novice – Lorelei Derry – Breck School
Most Promising Male – Logan McDonough – Sheryl Joyner School

Best Hornpipe (Inter) – Emma Breeze – Heather Liddell
Best Irish Jig (Prem) – Hailey Romain – Joy Allen School

Best Solo Cheor – Kendra Brophy – Aspects of Dance
Trio Cheor Winners – Peyton Seto/Samm Sekulin – Joy Allen School
Best Group Cheor – Lisa Breck School

Premier 10 & Under – Aisla Gocan – Wright – Joy Allen School
Runner-up – Caris MacFarlane – Breck School

Premier 11 – Grace Barclay – Breck School
Runner-up – Katharine Gillespie – MacDougall School

Premier 12 – Addyson Knowles – Breck School
Runner-up – Madison Velacich – Symington School

Premier 13 – Ciera MacDonald – Symington School
Runner-up – Cora Turpin – Symington School

Premier 14 – Hannah Colquhoun – Breck School
Runner-up – Hannah Bellingham – MacDougall School

Premier 15 – Rebecca Srebot – Natalie Quick
Runner-up – Ava Gilchrist – Joy Allen School

Premier 16 – Elise Cheyne – Jackie Smith
Runner-up – Hailey Romain – Joy Allen School

Premier 17 – Samantha Barrow – Jackie Smith
Runner-up – Olivia Kyle – Symington School

Premier 18 & Over – Hilary Eves – Jackie Smith
Runner-up – Alyssa Barrow – Jackie Smith

Best Reel Team – Joy Allen School (H. Romain, K. Reddington, A. Gilchrist, H. Maggalanes)

Broadsword Team – Joy Allen School (H. Romain, P. Seto, A. Gilchrist, S. Sekulin)

Dancer of the day – Aisla Gocan-Wright – Joy Allen School